Siteseen Logo

Progressive Era Timeline


Progressive Era Timeline: Progressivism was an important US political movement from 1890-1920 that encompassed modern ideas such as working conditions, unionization and female suffrage.

Definition and Summary of the Progressive Era Timeline
Summary and definition:
 Progressivism addressed major issues and problems in American society such as urbanization, industrialization and child labor. The ideals of principles of Progressivism and the Progressives saw the government to pass laws and political reforms protecting workers and regulating big business.

The Progressive Era Timeline provides details of the changes brought about by Progressivism.

Progressive Era Timeline (1890 - 1920) for kids
The timeline
history of the progressive reform societies, the crusading authors and important people and political events in the Progressive Era Timeline.

In 1890 the National Woman Suffrage Association and the American Woman Suffrage Association
groups united to form the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) - refer to Women's Suffrage.

1890: Jacob Riis (1849 –1914), the city editor of the New York Tribune, author and photographer publishes "How the Other Half Lives" graphically describing the squalor of the New York slums.

1890: The Sherman Antitrust Act was the first measure passed by the U.S. Congress to prohibit monopolies.

1893: The Anti-Saloon League was formed adding to the force of the Women’s Christian Temperance Union.

1896: Educator and social reformer John Dewey (1859 – 1952) establishes a “progressive” school in Chicago.

1898: The Erdman Act prohibited discrimination against railroad workers because of union membership and provided for mediation of railway labor disputes .

1899: The National Consumers’ League was established by social and political reformer Florence Kelley (1859 – 1932) fighting against 'sweatshops'.

1901: Following the disaster of the Galveston Hurricane Galveston introduced the commission system of government replacing the mayor and city council. a major step in the Progressive Era Timeline.

1901: Frank Norris (1870 – 1902) publishes 'The Octopus: A Story of California' . Writing in the naturalist genre about the conflict between the California wheat farmers and the Southern Pacific Railroad.

1902: The Anthracite Coal Strike of 1902 was one of America's largest industrial strikes and saw President Roosevelt act as a mediator.

1902: President Roosevelt takes J.P. Morgan’s Northern Securities Company to court for violating the Sherman Antitrust Act in his “trust-busting” efforts to break up Big business monopolies.

1903: Department of Commerce and Labor established to reduce tensions between management and labor. It includes a division called the Bureau of Corporations, with the authority to investigate and regulate corporations without having to sacrifice economic efficiency by breaking up the trusts.

1904: The Square Deal Policy in which President Roosevelt supports progressive and aggressive political reforms, including the heavy regulation of business. Conservation was a cornerstone of his domestic policy

1904: The National Child Labor Committee was established with the goal of abolishing all child labor

1905: Progressive activist Robert La Follette was elected to the U.S. Senate.

1906: Upton Sinclair (1878 – 1968), publishes his muckraking novel The Jungle about labor exploitation and appalling conditions in meatpacking plants.

1906: The passage of the Hepburn Act challenging the economic power of the railroad industry. It also expands the jurisdiction of the Interstate Commerce Commission (ICC)

1906: Pure Food and Drug Act and the Meat Inspection Act are passed to protect the public’s health and welfare.

1907: John Spargo  (1876–1966) published 'The Bitter Cry of the Children' on child labor conditions in the coal mines and the plight of the "breaker boys".

1907: Theologian Walter Rauschenbusch (1861–1918) the primary theologian of the “Social Gospel” movement publishes his book 'Christianity and the Social Crisis'.

1909: Ida B.Wells (1862 – 1931) an African-American journalist, suffragist and Progressive is instrumental in founding the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) to challenge racial discrimination.

1910: The Mann-Elkins Act strengthens the Hepburn Act and gives the Interstate Commerce Commission authority to regulate telephone and telegraph companies.

1911: The deaths of 146 sweatshop workers in the Triangle Shirtwaist Company fire raises awareness of urban work environments.

1911: Antitrust suits brought against Standard Oil and U.S. Steel.

1913: The 17th amendment to the Constitution was ratified to counter Senate corruption by the direct election of senators

1913: The 1913 Federal Reserve Act established the Federal Reserve System

1913: The 1913 Underwood Tariff reduced the average tariff on imported goods

1914: The Federal Trade Commission is established by the 1914 Federal Trade Commission Act to regulate fair competition among Big business and industry.

1914: The Clayton Antitrust Act revises the 1890 Sherman Antitrust Act and bans monopolistic and unfair business practices and affirms the right to go on strike.

1916: The Keating-Owen Child Labor Act limits how many hours children are allowed to work - also refer to Child Labor in America

1916: The Adamson Act establishes an eight-hour workday for railroad

1916: The Federal Farm Loan Act created 12 Federal Land Banks to provide small farmers with long-term loans at low interest rates.

1919: The 18th Amendment is passed prohibiting the sale and manufacture of liquor.

1919: The 19th Amendment is passed giving women the right to vote - refer to Women's suffrage

US American History
1881-1913: Maturation Era
Progressive Movement
Urbanization in America

ⓒ 2017 Siteseen Limited

First Published

Cookies Policy


Updated 2018-01-01

Publisher Siteseen Limited

Privacy Statement